Create MIDI messages programatically

Hello,

I’m currently doing my master’s thesis, and I’m developing (or rather attempting to) an audio plug-in that will work with Lindenmayer-Systems (L-Systems) to generate music.

Since I’m new to audio plugin development and C++, I’m struggling sometimes to get a grasp of things. I’ve already looked at the docs of iPlug2 and the current project I have is essentially a duplicate of the IPlugInstrument example. What I’m looking for help is how to play notes programatically. This is because L-Systems basically generate strings which I will parse to a set of notes according to a set of rules, so I need to know how to control MIDI messages in code.

Thanks for any help provided and sorry if the question is too newbie.

In general terms what you want to do is to process the massages that arrive at the ProcessMidiMsg function. Some of these messages will have a NoteOn or NoteOff status, corresponding to the press and release of a key on a MIDI keyboard. If you identify one such message you can keep interrogating it in order to create a code that will let the ProcessBlock function to reproduce the corresponding sound, which you can do by use of member variables, or some other method.

Here is a very brief example:

void Keyboard::ProcessMidiMsg(const IMidiMsg& msg)
{
    int status = msg.StatusMsg();
    if (status == IMidiMsg::kNoteOn)
    {
        int n = msg.NoteNumber();
        // create code to let the programme know that note n should be played
    }
    else if (status == IMidiMsg::kNoteOff)
    {
        int n = msg.NoteNumber();
        // create code to let the programme know that note n should stop
    }
}

void Keyboard::ProcessBlock( **sample** ** inputs, **sample** ** outputs, int nFrames)
{
    // print data on the output channels according to the notes that should be playing
}