Sampler - iPlug2?

I’m new to iPlug2 and coding. My first plugin project I want to create a Sampler Plugin. Can this be done with iPlug2?

Sure you can. I’ve made a few myself. You need to duplicate the IPlugInstrument example and work from there.

Eh Ric. Thanks for the reply! What do you mean by duplicate the iplugin instrument example?? I’m really new to programming. I’m not familiar with much programming terminology. Sorry.

But gad to know I can create a sampler with iPlug and I see you have the experience. How difficult is it ? When it comes to creating a sampler? I’m sure by the third sampler you created the process was easier than the first.

One more question do you know of some tutorials, source code or info that could help me in creating my first sampler plugin ever lol I’m not finding much information on how to really get started with iPlug2.

If you don’t have much experience and you want to make a sampler I’d perhaps recommend you look at HISE or sfizz . IPlug2 is a plugin framework, it doesn’t include much to simplify making a sampler, although it is of course possible

After you install IPlug2 you can go to the Terminal (Command in Windows), go to the Examples folder and execute the duplicate.py script. This is the “getting started” link (on the right there is a link for Windows):

But even before that, I’d suggest that if you don’t have programming experience then you start by learning C++ first. Making audio plugins is probably 99% coding, there’s no way around it. Once you do that you can try to create an Instrument plugin, i.e., a plugin that receives MIDI messages and transforms them into audio.

I personally don’t know how detailed the MIDI functions are in IPlug2 because I like to do it all myself, using my own functions and strutcs, &c. But IPlug2 tackles the most difficult part of all, which is to wrap your programme into a fully working plugin.